First Day of School

The International School of Latvia, where we are working, is celebrating a big milestone this year. The school has been around serving the local and expat community in the Riga area for 20 years. Just 3 years ago it moved into the new and much larger building. It is beautiful and located about 20 km from the city halfway to the coastal town of Jurmala.

Cody and I arrived to work at 7:15 well rested and well dressed. We knew it was going to be a formal experience since we were hosting the Latvian Minister of Education, many from the Embassies in Latvia and the news crew. The excitement was curbed a bit as soon as we went outside to stand in the cold for an hour for the flag raising ceremony. It was a great event, but I was excited to start our day.

IMG_3539

Here is my teaching partner Skye (left) and our teaching assistant Laima. It has been a wonderfully welcoming team so far!

IMG_3542
IMG_3544

 

At the close of the day we met outside for a quick introduction ceremony. The kids nearest in the photo are mine and they performed a song they created that day. We changed the words to “We Will Rock You” and made it applicable to our class. Queen is a great way to start the year off right. I wish it was recorded.
IMG_3546

IMG_3548

Tradition in Lativa is to give teachers flowers. I received many beautiful bouquets which were a welcome touch to my sparse new classroom. I only have 14 fifth graders (I know, don’t hate me) and the day, all in all, was a great one. Our new friend Mikyla teaches 3rd grade and we noticed that the amount of flowers you receive is proportionate to the lower grade you teach. This was her being dropped off with about 1/2 of her bouquets. All in all, it was the best first day I have ever had. What a way to start the year off right. Not to mention, a few days later I found out that I was in the news! Check it out! 

IMG_3549

 

4 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. I so enjoy your posts and can almost feel the excitement of your first day. I am really
    pleased for the both of you. Please don’t stop posting.

    Love ya, Aunt Linda

  2. Thank you so much for sending this to us all. I know that I enjoy your post every time we get it just not often enough to satisfy my hunger for information about what you two are doing

    love ya DAD

Leave a Reply

