New Year’s Goals and Bonus Information

I have decided against resolutions and instead decided to set achievable goals for each month of the year of 2011. Of course I am taking data (because I am a behavioral dork and know the steps of making changes in your life) and in addition am going to share them here so that I have some accountability. So here they are:

  • 25 pages read in Shantaram per week (don’t be fooled by the website, I included it for my own amusement)
  • 2 times of drinking per month (only one to date which occurred in Bangkok during a social mixer during a very exciting and life changing event)
  • workout 3 times per week
  • 1 blog post per week
  • 2 personal email sent per week to friends and family to stay connected
  • 2 new recipes tried each week

So the real reason for this blog post is to share two specific things with you that relate to my last monthly goal for January.

  1. The first is an awesome website called One tsp. It is a service that acts as a personal recipe keeper, but it is on the internet! So cool. You can find it here at http://onetsp.com/. I love it. You can not only organize all of your recipes and have them accessible to you where every there is the internet (like your mom’s house in Portland when you want to cook a Malaysian feast) but you can also add your own categories for each recipe which allows easy organization. No more food stained note cards for me.
  2. One of the new recipes I tried for the month I made today and had an Asian inspired theme so I thought I would share it with you. I found it in a Cooking Light Magazine and was a cinch to make so here it is:

Lemongrass and Ginger Potato Salad


Ingredients

  • 2 lbs red potatoes
  • 2 tbs rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tbs dark sesame oil
  • 4 tsp minced, pealed fresh lemongrass
  • 1 tbs water
  • 2 tsp grated, pealed ginger
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 hot pepper, minced
  • 1/3 c green onion
  • 2 tbs fresh cilantro

Directions

  1. boil potatoes, and simmer 10 minutes
  2. combine dressing ingredients and whisk together
  3. add potatoes, lemongrass and toss
  4. add green onions and cilantro

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Goals and Bonus Information

  1. Rorey,
    I have to say that your blog is one of my very favorites to read. Because I’m a little behind on it, I took some time the other night, catching up. I am inspired by you and Cody. What an amazing experience. My husband and I have actually be doing something similar in Europe (the Netherlands actually). Did you go through a teaching organization to help connect you in Malaysia? Anyway, thank you for this blog. I think it’s wonderful. ~Leila

    • Hi Leila, It is so nice to hear from you. For the job in Malaysia we used JoyJobs which has pluses and minuses. We are currently using ISS and big things are coming so stay posted. There is little I can share on the blog right now due to other circumstances. It is a fantastic experience and Cody and I decided that even if we had kids, it would be totally doable. Besides missing family and friends, it is wonderful. Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

