Difference: Dryers

Due to the gloriously hot weather here, Malaysians do not use dryers. It is a wonderful thing. It is awesome with a capital A. It is unbelievable if you think about it. Cody and I are living in a city with 4 million people. People do not have large yards here; we all live in high rise condo’s and apartments. How is this possible you may ask? Well, you see laundry everywhere. It hangs out on drying racks on patios, over railings on balconies, and out of bedroom windows. Pants, dresses, bras, socks and panties are hung with every color of the rainbow out for all to see.

IMG_8045

I have fell into doing laundry like this with ease and simple comfort. Yes, the clothes come out a little crisper if you do not use fabric softener, but for anyone bothered by stiff t-shirts and coarse towels, do not fret, each hypermarket has an extremely large selection of fabric softener in their cleaning aisle. In addition, clothes do not shrink without the use of a dryer not to mention without the use of hot water (more on that at some other date.) No more stretchy t-shirt game that we play with the floor and our feet. (Kate knows what I’m talking about, don’t you Kate?) And sometimes, your clothes have a party over night while you are sleeping and end up passed out and strewn on the tiles of your balcony floor.

Another reason I like doing laundry is that I feel like I am actually accomplishing something when I take the wet clothes out of the washing machine, walk them into the fresh air and place them in their drying position. With the hustle and bustle of my life in the states, I would be bothered by this “chore” but now I take satisfaction in the entire clothes washing process. It is deliberate and planned and that part charms me.

Do I even have to mention the reason everyone has been waiting for?…. It saves energy. With all of that said, when I move back to the states, I will do laundry without a dryer. Yes, even if we return to Portland, rainy Portland. Maybe there will be a few days, or maybe more than a few, where this will be difficult to accomplish, but I will try my best. I hope I can convince others to do the same and be a little more Malaysian with every piece of dirty laundry.

IMG_8046

3 thoughts on “Difference: Dryers

  1. I love it! I live in the desert and no one uses clothes lines or drying racks except me (and I do it on the sly because there are “regulations” against line drying). Way to go!

  2. Glad you learned about solar clothes dryers. Have been doing it since we moved to MT. With sun and no humidity the clothes are dry before the next load is finished in the dryer. The winter is the sticker, however, with clothes freezing before they can dry. That’s where the dryer is handy. But there is nothing like clean, crisp, sheets right off the line. I just love the smell of the sunshine. No dryer can duplicate that. Hugs to you both.

Leave a Reply

